Board of Trustees

The Garrett College Board of Trustees is the governing board of the institution. It consists of seven gubernatorial appointees who serve for six-year terms. The members of the Board of Trustees have legal authority only when the Board is in formal session with the prescribed majority quorum. Chosen from among the citizens of Garrett County, Board members come from various communities throughout the County and have a history of community involvement. They represent a range of educational, economic, and professional backgrounds.

The Board’s statutory authority is stated in the Annotated Code of Maryland, Education Article, Title 16 - Community Colleges. Under statute and with the approval of the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC), the Board of Trustees has the power to operate Garrett College; to exercise general control over the College; to adopt reasonable policies; to acquire and dispose of assets or property; to set reasonable tuition and fees; and to ensure proper financial management of the institution.

The Board of Trustees is dedicated to Garrett College and committed to preserving, advancing, and safeguarding the institution.

LiveZilla Live Chat Software