Volleyball Goes 2-0 Over the Weekend

The Garrett College Lady Lakers picked up two MDJUCO Conference victories this weekend on the road. Friday night, the Lakers defeated Anne Arundel Community College in 5 sets. Final Scores were 26-24 W, 25-23 L, 26-24 L, 25-20 W, and 15-8 W. The Lady Lakers were led by sophomore, Amirah Burnett, who turned in 12 kills, and a .290 hitting percentage. She also added 4 block solos, and 2 block assists on the night. Freshman, Taylor Ferguson, had 27 assists. Sophomore, Katie Bowman, turned in 24 digs, and Freshman, Derricka Jackson, added 3 service aces and 25 digs.

Saturday, the Lady Lakers defeated Baltimore City CC in 4 sets. Final Scores were 25-23 W, 25-18 W, 25-18 L, and 25-20 W. Again, the Lady Lakers were led by sophomore, Amirah Burnett, who had 9 kills and a .350 hitting percentage. Taylor Ferguson added 18 assists and 5 servcie aces, while Katie Bowman tallied up 23 digs. Freshman, Derricka Jackson, had a solid performance with a hitting percentage of .333 and 20 digs. 

The ladies improve their record to 3-1 in the MDJUCO, and 3-4 overall. They are back in action on Tuesday night as they travel to CCBC Essex for an MDJUCO Conferene and Region XX match up. Game time is 7pm.

Lakers Volunteer at Savage Man Triathlon

Savage Man

Members of the Garrett Lakers women's basketball, volleyball, men's basketball and baseball teams could be seen stationed around the county this past weekend, to direct bikers through the Savage Man Triathlon bike courses. Saturday, the bikers covered 22.9 miles during the Savage Man 30.0. Sunday, their bike race covered 55.7 miles of Garrett County, during the Savage Man 70.0. 

Pictured above are student - athlete's on the Women's Basketball and Volleyball teams at Garrett College.

For more information about this annual event, visit their website at: www.savagemantriathlon.com

Volleyball Takes Down Chesapeake 3-0

The Lady Lakers beat Chesapeake 3-0, Final Scores 25-21, 25-15, and 25-19. Sophomore, Natalie Johnson led the team with 10 kills, 9 digs, and had a hitting percentage of .625. Freshman, Taylor Ferguson, led the team with 18 assists, and an outstanding hitting percentage of .800 with 4 kills. Freshman, Derricka Jackson, added 8 digs. The Lady Lakers improve their record to 1-1 overall, 1-1 in Region XX, and 1-1 in the MDJUCO. The Ladies will travel to Penn Highlands on Sept. 22 to take on the Lady Black Bears at 6pm.

Volleyball Drops Season Opener to Allegany

The Lady Lakers dropped their opening match of the season 3-0 to Allegany College of Maryland. Final scores 25-9, 25-14, 25-22. Sophomore, Amirah Burnett led the Lady Lakers with 8 kills. Freshman, Taylor Ferguson had 10 assists and 9 digs. The Lady Lakers are back in action Friday, September 18'th at Chesapeake College. Game time is 6pm.

Do You Want To Be A Laker?

If you are interested in playing softball for the Lady Lakers, please contact Coach Terry Chapman at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .