Men's Basketball News

Hoopy Holidays Basketball Clinic

The Garrett College men and women’s basketball programs hosted the first annual Hoopy Holidays basketball skills camp on Dec. 27th and 28th. Coach Roy "Bogie" Boggess and Coach Dennis Gibson organized the camp to provide boys and girls in grades 3rd-8th the opportunity to get out of the house over the holiday break and learn new basketball skills and drills. "These camps are always fun. We had a great group of young players come out and work hard to improve their basketball fundamentals, but more importantly, by getting them out of the house for a couple days it gave their parents some relief," Coach Bogie said with a smile. Pictured here with Coach Bogie (in the foreground) are some the camp participants. From left to right they are Kaylee Baker, Jinny Warn, Kaitlyn Smith, Jacob Rush, and Morgan Rush. Information on future camps for kids and tournaments is available on the Garrett College Athletics website

Lakers Ink Two SHS Standouts

Times/News Area Player of the Year DJ Ritchie has signed a letter of intent to play for the Lakers. Ritchie led the area in scoring with 19.8 per game as well as one of the top free throw percentages in area history, hitting123 of 143 for 86% from the free throw stripe. A physical therapy major, DJ was a Minds in Motion winner with a 3.5 overall gpa. In addition he received the Terry Colaw Athlete of the Year award.

His longtime teammate and two year starting point guard Kurt Gangler has also agreed to play for the Lakers. Kurt was instrumental in leading the Rams to the 2012 Times/News Area Championships. Kurt was also selected as the team’s MVP his Junior and Senior Year averaging nearly 15 points per game and 4.2 assists. In this year’s prestigious Snowball Classic, hosting some of the top teams in the tri-state area, Gangler was voted Most Outstanding Player.

Laker head coach Dennis Gibson was pleased with landing two of the area’s top local products.

Men's Bball Has New Playoff Format!

Two teams from Region XX will qualify for the NJCAA National Tourney in Danville, Illinois.

For 2012/13 season the tournament will be split into two divisions.

20A seeding will consist of:

Game #1 - Seeds #8 and #9 will play in a playoff game (Friday at Hagerstown CC)

Game #2 - Seed #1 will play winner of 8/9 game (Friday at Hagerstown CC)

Game #3 - Seed #4 will play Seed #5 (Saturday at Hagerstown CC)

Game #4 - Winner of Game #2 and Winner of Game #3 - this will be the 20A Region Champion

20B seeding will consist of:

Game #5 - Seed #6 will play Seed #11 (Friday at Hagerstown)

Game #6 - Seed #7 will play Seed #10 (Friday at Hagerstown)

Game #7 - Seed #2 will play winner of 7/10 Game (Saturday at Hagerstown)

Game #8 - Seed #3 will play winner of 6/11 Game (Saturday at Hagerstown)

Game #9 - Winner of Game #7 and Winner of Game #8 - this will be 20B Region champion

Championship Games will be Sunday at Hagerstown CC.

Division II Teams:

Cecil CC, Dundalk CC, CCBC Essex, CCBC Catonsville, Garrett College, Chesapeake CC, College of SMD, Potomac State, NOVA, CC of Beaver County, Howard CC.

Basketball Summer Camps Kick Off!

The Little Lakers Basketball Camp held June 5-8, 2012 at Garrett College was very exciting for the campers who ranged in age from Grades 1-Garde 5. Skills focused on during the week included fundamentals, ball handling, competitiveness, team work, and good sportsmanship.

The Varsity Camp, Grades 5-12, was held June 11-14 from 8am -2pm at Garrett College. The early start to the day didn’t prevent these participants from showing enthusiasm and high energy for basketball. Participants worked on skills to improve ball handling, shooting techniques, individual defensive and offensive fundamentals, team defense and offense, and rebounding. Also, camp participants focused on team work and good sportsmanship emphasized by the camp instructors.

Participants of both camps received a Certificate of Completion, Laker T-shirt, a 1 Day pass to swim at the CARC, and 1 ticket to the upcoming “Court Jesters versus the Garrett County Dream Team,” being held October 13, 2012 at 8pm at the new CARC Gymnasium at Garrett College.