Lakers Hold Annual Athletic Banquet

he Garrett College Lakers held their annual athletic banquet at The Greene Turtle, in McHenry, MD. Mr. Paul Mullan, “The Voice of the Lakers” was the MC of the event, while Dr. Richard Midcap, President of Garrett College was the guest speaker. Dr. Qing Yuan, Dean of Academic Affairs, recognized student –athletes who achieved GPA’s of 3.0 of higher for the Fall 2016 semester. Awards for Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year will be given out at Garrett College’s Commencement Ceremony on May 20, 2017.

Team Awards


Most Outstanding Player: Hannah Henderson

Coach’s Award: Brianna Evans

Women’s Basketball

Most Outstanding Player: Chaunte McDowell

Coach’s Award: Mia – Alexis Lloyd

Men’s Basketball

Most Outstanding Player: Malik Tunc

Coach’s Award: Terry Brown


Most Outstanding Players: Skylar Ferguson, Madison Rush

Coach’s Award: Mia – Alexis Lloyd


Most Outstanding Player: Doug Pollock

Coach’s Award: Tyler Ray


Most Outstanding Player: Bryce Friend

Athletic Department Awards

Loyal Fan Award: Kathy Fauber

David K. Martin Laker Award: Wyatt McBee, Men’s Basketball

Female Athlete of the Year: Hannah Henderson, Volleyball / Women’s Basketball / Softball

Male Athletes of the Year: Jafar Musa, Men’s Basketball & Doug Pollock, Baseball


Pictured: Male and Female Athletes of the Year, Jafar Musa, Hannah Henderson, and Doug Pollock.
LiveZilla Live Chat Software