News Garrett College Foundation Notes 2020 21 Scholarship Awards - Garrett College

For the most up-to-date information on Garrett College’s Fall 2020 Return to Campus Plan, visit

Garrett College McHenry campus offices will be open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Offices will be closed for service from 12- 1 p.m. for lunch. Visitors are strongly encouraged to schedule appointments (either virtual or in-person). When on campus, all visitors must follow the College’s health-and-safety measures. Please note the outreach centers (NOC, SOC, CTTC) will have variable hours - please call ahead prior to visiting these locations.

The most up-to-date information on Garrett College's response to COVID-19, can be found online at novel coronavirus/COVID-19 resource page.

Note: the Daily Health Self-Assessment form is located here.

Apply Now
Plan a Visit
Request Info
Make a Gift

Campus News

August 25th, 2020

Garrett College Foundation notes 2020-21 scholarship awards

The Garrett College Foundation annually presents scholarships to Garrett College students. Following are the names of scholarship recipients for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Amy Mildred Sharpless Scholarship

– Cody Eyler, Friendsville; Ashley McKenzie, Frostburg; and Courtney Alexander and Olivia Weeks, both of Oakland.

Ann Dilgard Scholarship

– Erin Ritchie, Accident; and Emilee Tasker, Oakland.

Audrey Naylor Scholarship

– Morgan Maust and Sheri Sechler, Accident; Christa Coleman, Kitzmiller; Breanna Holt and Crystal Paugh, Oakland; and Lottie Rohrbaugh, Swanton.

Caroline A. McNiece Scholarship

– Madison Embleton, Oakland.

Charles L. Briner Memorial Scholarship

– Carter Bowers, Swanton.

Civic Club of Oakland: Helen Baumgartner Memorial Scholarship

– Alyson Bennett, Grantsville.

Civic Club of Oakland: Patience W. Grant Memorial Scholarship

– Kailey Nugent, Oakland.

Clinton Englander Memorial Scholarship

– Sheri Sechler, Accident.

Colonel J. Haig & Mrs. Ruth Ridder Jackson Scholarship

– Jacob Nazelrod, Madison Shaffer and Kennedy Weeks, all of Oakland.

Cortney & Marie Tasker Scholarship

– Sara Carr, Accident; Alyson Bennett, Grantsville; and Colten Plum, Curtis West and Peyton Wilson, all of Oakland.

Daniel Edward Offutt, III Achievement Award Scholarship

– Ryan Harvey and Parker Wilt, both of Grantsville; and Justin Shafer, Swanton.

Daniel Edward Offutt, III STEM Scholarship Fund

– Christian Stanton, Hagerstown; Gavin Shockley, Princess Anne; Allison Oswald, Blairsville, Pa. and Grant Helmstetter, Abbottstown, Pa.; Eli Hott, Augusta, W.Va., Patrick Bart, Shinnston, W.Va., Cody Spring, Stonewood, W.Va., and Cort Hetrick, Terra Alta, W.Va.

Deep Creek Lake Lions Club Scholarship

– Dominic Menear, Accident.

Deep Creek Lake Lions Club: Stewart Jackson Memorial Scholarship

– Dominic Menear, Accident.

Distinguished Alumni Award Scholarship

– Emily Mayles, Friendsville; and Madison Sweitzer, Oakland.

Dorothy Brock Leighton Scholarship

– Megan O'Neill and Madison Sweitzer, both of Oakland.

Dr. Bruce Jenkins Memorial Fund

– Brandon Green, Oakland.

Dr. Jeanne H. Neff Scholarship

– Lettie Welch, Frederick.

Edna Solomon Moran Memorial STEM Scholarship

– Alexis House, Grantsville; and Emily Gregory, Oakland.

Edward & Hazel Hinebaugh Scholarship

– Rachel Duggan, Swanton.

Fred Carroll Memorial Scholarship

– Kazzie Sisler, Oakland.

Fred VanSickle Memorial Scholarship

– Rachel Duggan, Swanton.

Garrett College Board of Trustees Scholarship

– Brandon Green and Emily Welch, Oakland; and Ian Eggleston, McHenry.

Garrett College Employee Scholarship

– Caitlyn Gilpin, Grantsville.

Garrett College Foundation Grant

– Brennan White, Frostburg; Sophia Barrasso, Gaithersburg; Samantha Guthrie, Grantsville; Bessie Lee, Great Mills; Destiny Lloyd, Kitzmiller; Dezmon Gladney, Lusby; Catherine O'Brien and Tenisha Thomas, both of Oakland; and Branden Guy, Owings Mills; William Decker, Garrett, Pa.; Joshua Schramm, Moundsville, W.Va.; and Samantha Wiles, Terra Alta, W.Va.; and Tenisha Wright, Washington, D.C. Garrett County Business & Professional Women's Club Scholarship – Allison Morris, Accident.

Garrett County Retired School Personnel Memorial Scholarship

– Dalton Wiles, Oakland.

GM Rear Admiral Richard B. Schiff Memorial Scholarship

– Chelsea Sines-Ortiz, Oakland.

Hazel Fratz Wright Scholarship

– Harleigh Wildesen, Mt. Lake Park; Katrina Marraccini and Nathan Spiker, both of Oakland.

James H. & Gladys "Happy" Nordeck Memorial Scholarship I

– EllaRose Warnick, Frostburg; and Ian Eggleston, McHenry.

James H. & Gladys "Happy" Nordeck Memorial Scholarship II

– Kaelyn Glotfelty, Oakland.

Jerry L. Humberson Memorial Scholarship

– Esdras Castillo, Silver Spring.

Joan Dixon Memorial Scholarship

– Emily Mayles, Friendsville; and Kristen Massey, Oakland.

Josh Fike Scholarship

– Bella LaRosa, Acme, Pa.

Junior Women's Civic Club Scholarship

– Madison Sweitzer, Oakland.

Kalie Hostutler Ashby Academic Achievement Fund– Madison Embleton, Kaelyn Glotfelty, and Emilee Tasker, all of Oakland.

Knights of Columbus Scholarship

– Roger Dixon, Oakland.

Leah Welling Huber Memorial Scholarship

– Brooklynn Bennett, Terra Alta, W.Va.

Marilyn Moors AAUW "Second Chances" Memorial Scholarship

– Lottie Rohrbaugh, Swanton.

Michael D. Kilgus Scholarship for Excellence - Natalie Lehman, Grantsville.

Michael Vaughn Vitez Memorial Scholarship I –Gabriell Blamble, Friendsville; and Anthony Paul, Frostburg.

Mountain Laurel Garden Club Scholarship

– Brady O'Brien, Swanton.

Mr. & Mrs. A.P. Boxley, III Scholarship

– Hunter Eitelbach, Brewster, Mass.

Oakland/Mt. Lake Park Lions Club: Ravenscroft Memorial

– Landon Custer, Oakland; and Kamryn Miller, Swanton.

Ruth I. Filsinger Memorial Scholarship

– Beverly Rasel, Swanton.

Shentel Foundation Scholarship

– Zane Thomas, Oakland.

Springer Family Scholarship

– Bradie Moore, Lonaconing.

Total Biz Fulfillment, Inc.: Ruddell Family Scholarship

– Brennan White, Frostburg; and Emma Helton, Oakland.

Wayne G. Kelley Memorial Scholarship

– Parker Wilt, Grantsville.

William E. & Joan B. Crawford Memorial Scholarship

– Robert Bittinger, Cumberland.

William Henry Schmidt Memorial Scholarship

– Aaron Graham, Stephen Jones, and Atlee Wise, all of Oakland; and Kaden Hebb, Swanton.

For more information on the Garrett College Foundation, contact the Foundation office at 301-387-3131.

Alexis House

Alyson Bennet

Cheslea Sines

Emilee Tasker

Emma Helton

Jacob Nazlerod

Katrina Marraccini

Landon Custer

Lottie Rohrbaugh

Madison Embleton

Olivia Weeks

Parker Wilt

Tenisha Thomas

Zane Thomas

Dominic Menear

Harleigh Wildesen