News Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Class To Be Held In Mchenry - Garrett College

For the most up-to-date information on Garrett College’s Fall 2020 Return to Campus Plan, visit https://www.garrettcollege.edu/fall-2020.

As of August 17th, Garrett College McHenry campus offices will be open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Offices will be closed for service from 12- 1 p.m. for lunch. Visitors are strongly encouraged to schedule appointments (either virtual or in-person). When on campus, all visitors must follow the College’s health-and-safety measures. Please note the outreach centers (NOC, SOC, CTTC) will have variable hours - please call ahead prior to visiting these locations.

The most up-to-date information on Garrett College's response to COVID-19, can be found online at novel coronavirus/COVID-19 resource page.

Note: the Daily Health Self-Assessment form is located here.

GC students, click here to learn how to attend your virtual classes this Fall semester.

Apply Now
Plan a Visit
Request Info
Make a Gift

Campus News

March 6, 2018

Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Class to be held in McHenry

Continuing Education and Workforce Development of Garrett College is providing a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit class. The class runs from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. on Thursday, March 15 at the main campus in McHenry.

If you travel throughout the United States and wish to be permitted to carry a concealed handgun this class qualifies to get your handgun permit through a one-day training. This Concealed Carry Permit Certification Course, allows you to be eligible to apply for a Non-Resident Utah Concealed Firearm Permit which is honored in 35 states. It does not include Maryland.

This 5-hour class covers all aspects and requirements required by the state of Utah. You must also pass a criminal background check in order to obtain a permit. Utah application will be completed during the class and reviewed for completion. Photographs and fingerprinting will be done during the class at no additional cost.

Please note that if your home state issues a concealed carry permit, you need to provide a copy of that permit to obtain your Utah permit. This does not apply to MD residents—unless you currently have a permit. Class charges include fingerprinting, photography service & providing you with packet to mail.

You will also need to pay the $49 Permit fee to the State of Utah (either by credit card or check). Permit is valid for 5 years. THIS IS NOT A NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION (NRA) CLASS.

The class is taught by Rick Sivic Sr., Boston Hill Training, who is certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI), a Maryland State Police Qualified Handgun Instructor and an NRA certified firearms instructor.

For additional information or to register, persons may contact Garrett College Continuing Education and Workforce Development at 301-387-3069.