News Garrett College Inducts 11 Into Ptk Honor Society - Garrett College
Apply Now
Plan a Visit
Request Info
Make a Gift

Campus News

November 29th, 2022

Garrett College inducts 11 into PTK Honor Society

Largest higher ed honor society recognizes community college students


Photo by John Rudd

Garrett College recently inducted the fall 2022 class of its Alpha Omicron Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Pictured, left to right, are: Makayla Miller, Chapter Advisor Dr. Michel Buday-Murray, Kimberly Rodeheaver, Alexis Meyers, Emmalie Thomas, Cambria Snyder, Ashley Beitzel, Jaydason Miller, and Chapter Advisor Stephanie Miller.

Eleven Garrett College students were recognized for their academic achievement and community service during a November 17th Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society induction.

"You are our highest-achieving students," Dr. Ryan Harrod, dean of academic affairs, told the inductees. "I know each of you will use your Garrett College experience as a springboard to a successful future."

Dr. Richard Midcap, Garrett College's president, said he was confident the students' PTK induction would "serve as encouragement to continue setting and reaching high goals in your academic, professional and personal pursuits."

Garrett College's Alpha Omicron Phi chapter is part of the largest honor society in American higher education. PTK has more than 1.3 million members in over 1,100 chapters. PTK has chapters in all 50 states as well as U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, and Japan.

Midcap and Harrod thanked the chapter advisors, Dr. Michele Buday-Murray and Stephanie Miller, for their engaged leadership.

Six Oakland residents – Emmalie Thomas, Arianna Torrisi, Jaydason Miller, Makayla Miller, Kimberly Rodeheaver, and Cambria Snyder – were among this fall's inductees. Swanton residents Tyler Sweitzer and Lucia Dawson were also inducted along with Ashley Beitzel (Grantsville), Alexis Meyers (Friendsville), and Michael Gillert (Morgantown, WV).

Five of the inductees have assumed formal leadership roles within the Alpha Omicron Phi chapter. Jaydason Miller is chapter president while Meyers and Thomas are serving as vice presidents. Beitzel is the chapter's public relations officer and Rodeheaver serves as recording officer.