News Gc To Induct 5 New Athletics Hof Members - Garrett College
Apply Now
Plan a Visit
Request Info
Make a Gift

Campus News

September 27th, 2022

GC to induct 5 new Athletics HoF members

Feagins, Henderson and Johnson joined by 2021 inductees Sharp and Monroe

Garrett College Hall of Fame
Garrett College Hall of Fame

Former Laker baseball player Joey Johnson and former Garrett College women’s basketball and volleyball player Hannah Henderson are two of the five individuals who will be inducted into the Garrett College Athletics Hall of Fame on October 15th. The other inductees are Mindy Sharp (women’s volleyball, basketball, and softball), Art Monroe (men’s basketball), and the late James Feagins (men’s basketball).

Garrett College will induct five new Athletics Hall of Fame members next month, recognizing inductees from the Class of 2022 as well as the Class of 2021.

Joseph Johnson (baseball), Hannah Henderson(women’s basketball/volleyball), and the late James Feagins (men’s basketball) make up the Class of 2022. Former Laker standouts Mindy Sharp (women’s basketball) and Art Monroe (men’s basketball) were elected to the Hall of Fame in 2021, but last year’s induction dinner was canceled due to COVID.

The Hall of Fame induction dinner will take place at 6 p.m. on Saturday, October 15th in the GC gymnasium. Tickets, priced at $25, may be purchased at the CARC front desk or (via credit card) by calling 301.387.3786. Checks may be made payable to Garrett Athletics. For more information or to RSVP and make payment at the door the night of the event, please email Andrew Catone at

Johnson was named to the first team all-state and all-Region 20 baseball teams in both 2014 and 2015. He hit .433 with 35 runs batted in as a freshman in addition to posting a 4-0 pitching record. As a sophomore, Johnson batted .346 with 47 RBIs to go along with a 2-1 record and 6 saves on the mound.

Henderson only attended GC one academic year (2016-27), but made quite a mark during her stay. She averaged 20.8 points, 13.3 rebounds and 1.9 assists while making first team all-state and leading the women’s basketball team to the Region 20 title game.

Henderson also played volleyball for the Lakers, making first team all-Region 20 and second team all-state. The two-sport standout was Garrett College’s Female Athlete of the Year in 2017.

Henderson went on to play basketball at Grambling State University, Alderson Broaddus University, and Kentucky State University before eventually signing to play professionally in Sweden.

Feagins attended Garrett College from 1985 to 1987, playing two seasons in the men’s basketball program. Feagins, who was an NJCAA All-American Honorable Mention in 1986, scored 1,318 career points.

Feagins – the first player to score over 1,000 points for Garrett College and the second Laker to earn all-American honors – went on to play at C.W. Post University and Long Island University.

Sharp – who also played women’s volleyball and softball for the Lakers – was named to the all-Region 20 tournament team in 2008 after leading the Lakers to the regional women’s basketball tournament title. She went on to receive the Betty Jo Graber Sportsmanship Award at the NJCAA Division II national tournament, where the Lakers finished seventh.

Sharp helped lead the Lakers to the 2007 Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference title during her freshman season. After graduating from Frostburg State University, she returned to GC to serve as assistant coach and then head coach of the women’s volleyball program.

Monroe was Garrett College’s first basketball all-American, earning third-team honors during a 1984-85 season in which he was also selected to the all-Region 20 first team. He also became the first Laker to play NCAA Division I basketball when he transferred to Longwood University.

The Garrett College Athletics Hall of Fame honors former student athletes, teams and others (including coaches, trainers, staff, individuals or companies) whose sports achievements and character have reflected positively on GC and the College’s Athletic Department.