News Garrett College Inducts 11 Into Ptk Chapter - Garrett College
Apply Now
Plan a Visit
Request Info
Make a Gift

Campus News

November 7th, 2023

Garrett College inducts 11 into PTK chapter

Bowser salutes students for their hard work and academic achievement

ptk 2023

Photo by John Rudd
Garrett College’s Phi Theta Kappa Alpha Omicron Phi Chapter inducted 11 new members last Wednesday night. Pictured, left to right, are (front row) Nakayla May, Ryan Busch, Maura DeBor, Amelia Holtschneider, (back row) John King, Dustin Keller, Aiyana Yoder, Kayli Broadwater, and Trent Drake. Not pictured: Evalee Baker and Alayna Savage.

Students invited to join the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society form a select group, according to Garrett College Chief Academic Officer Christa Bowser.

"This is a significant achievement," said Bowser of the 11 students inducted last Thursday night into Garrett College’s Alpha Omicron Phi Chapter of the international honor society. "Ability alone is seldom sufficient to achieve academic excellence. It also takes commitment and just plain hard work."

"We at Garrett College are very proud of you and your accomplishments," added Bowser. "We’re delighted to initiate you into this distinctive college honor society."

Dr. Richard Midcap, Garrett College’s president, thanked "those who supported our PTK inductees in their educational pursuits."

"No one ever achieves excellence on their own," said Midcap. "I’d like to recognize the families, friends, mentors, and all others who were there when our inductees needed your support."

The 11 students inducted were: Evalee Baker (Accident); Kayli Broadwater (Grantsville); Ryan Busch (Accident); Maura DeBor (Oakdale, PA); Trent Drake (Oakland); Amelia Holtschneider (Oakland); Dustin Keller (Oakland); John King (Oakland); Nakayla May (Oakland); Alayna Savage (Oakland); and Aiyana Yoder (Swanton).

PTK, established in 1918, is the official honor society for two-year colleges. The largest honor society in American higher education, PTK has more than 1.3 million members in over 1,100 chapters.

Notes: Drake serves as Alpha Omicron Phi chapter president while Busch, Keller, May, and Broadwater are chapter vice presidents. Yoder and Baker serve, respectively, as public relations officer and recording officer.